Home of

Jan 31, 2013

Eric Clapton Announces New Music

By Ben York
Posted: Jan. 31, 2013

Eric Clapton announced that he will release a brand new album, Old Sock, on March 12th, marking the guitar icon's 21st studio record and first since 2010's Clapton.

From his website

"The new album is a collection of some of Clapton’s favorite songs spanning from his childhood to present day that highlights his vast appreciation and knowledge of music. From Leadbelly to J.J. Cale; Peter Tosh to George Gershwin; Hank Snow to Gary Moore and Taj Mahal, this record is a celebration of so many who have inspired Clapton’s rich musical life. Clapton has always had a remarkable ability to recognize great songs and a gift for knowing how to uniquely interpret them, as he does on Old Sock."

Rolling Stone said the album will feature Clapton covering multiple different styles of music from rock and blues, to reggae and jazz standards. It also includes a playful collaboration with Paul McCartney that creates a true "Clapton" experience.  

Due on his own Bushbranch label, Old Sock will include two new originals – "Every Little" and "Gotta Get Over" – and versions of 10 of the guitarist's favorite songs from throughout his life. The LP also includes several guests: blues legend JJ Cale lends backing vocals and guitar on "Angel," R&B singer Chaka Khan sings back-up on "Get On Over," Clapton's old Blind Faith mate Steve Winwood plays organ on "Still Got the Blues" and Paul McCartney plays bass and sings on "All of Me."

The new collection (track listing below) follows up the December Deluxe Edition release of his 1977 classic Slowhand and is the first release this year celebrating Clapton's 50th year as a professional musician.

The release of the new project will coincide with the beginning of an extensive U.S. tour (in Phoenix on March 14) and will lead up to Clapton's 2013 Crossroads Guitar Festival at Madison Square Garden April 12 and 13. 


1. Further On Down The Road
2. Angel
3. The Folks Who Live On The Hill
4. Gotta Get Over
5. Till Your Well Runs Dry
6. All Of Me
7. Born To Lose
8. Still Got The Blues
9. Goodnight Irene
10. Your One and Only Man
11. Every Little Thing
12. Our Love Is Here To Stay